ITIL® 2011 Foundation

(24 Hours) | 3 Days
The Foundation level is the entry level certification which offers you a general awareness of the key elements, concepts and terminology used in the ITIL service lifecycle, including the links between lifecycle stages, the processes used and their contribution to service management practices.



The ITIL Foundation certificate in IT Service Management (ITSM)

The purpose of the ITIL Foundation certificate in IT Service Management is to certify that the candidate has gained knowledge of the ITIL terminology, structure and basic concepts and has comprehended the core principles of ITIL practices for service management.


The ITIL Foundation certificate in IT Service Management is not intended to enable the holders of the certificate to apply the ITIL practices for service management without further guidance.


Target group

The target group of the ITIL Foundation certificate in IT Service Management is drawn from:


·        Individuals who require a basic understanding of the ITIL framework and how it may be used to enhance the quality of IT service management within an organization.

·        IT professionals that are working within an organization that has adopted and adapted ITIL who need to be informed about and thereafter contribute to an ongoing service improvement programme.


This may include but is not limited to, IT professionals, business managers and business process owners.



Learning objectives

Candidates can expect to gain knowledge and understanding in the following upon successful completion of the education and examination components related to this certification.


·        Service management as a practice (comprehension)

·        The ITIL service lifecycle (comprehension)

·        Generic concepts and definitions (awareness)

·        Key principles and models (comprehension)

·        Selected processes (awareness)

·        Selected functions (awareness)

·        Selected roles (awareness)

·        Technology and architecture (awareness)

·        Competence and training (awareness)



ITIL Foundation exam format

·        Multiple choice examination questions

·        40 questions

·        26 marks required to pass (out of 40 available) - 65%

·        60 minutes’ duration

·        Closed book.



After earning your ITIL Foundation certificate, you can advance your ITSM career via the range of ITIL Intermediate certifications or the ITIL Practitioner certification. Use our ITSM Careers Path to help you plan your progress.


You can also become an ITIL Member - whether you have taken an ITIL exam or not - allowing you to access a wide range of content to help you pass your exams, to excel in your role and to advance your career, as well as enabling to demonstrate you knowledge via a digital badge.



Schedule for this course
Start dateEnd DateFromTo 
21-04-202023-04-2020 9:00 AM 17:00 PM JOIN TRAINING