ITIL® 2011 Managing Across the Life Cycle (MALC)

(16 Hours) | 2 Days
The ITIL Expert level qualification is aimed at those who are interested in demonstrating knowledge of the ITIL Scheme in its entirety. The certificate is awarded to candidates who have achieved a range of ITIL certifications and have attained a well rounded, superior knowledge and skills base in ITIL Best Practices.



The ITIL® Intermediate Qualification: Managing Across the Lifecycle Certificate is a free-standing qualification, but is also the final module of the Service Lifecycle and/or Service Capability modules that leads to the ITIL® Expert in IT Service Management. The purpose of this training module and the associated exam and certificate is, respectively, to impart, test, and validate the knowledge across the contents of the ITIL® 2011 publications; focusing on business, management and supervisory objectives, purpose, processes, functions and activities, and on the interfaces and interactions between the processes addressed in the five core ITIL® 2011 publications.



Target Group:

The target group of the ITIL® Intermediate Qualification: Managing Across the Lifecycle Certificate is: 

  • Individuals who require a business and management level understanding of the ITIL® 2011 core Lifecycle and how it may be implemented to enhance the quality of IT service provision within an organization 
  • Individuals seeking the ITIL® Expert certification in IT Service Management for which this qualification is the final mandatory module leading to the Expert certification 
  • Individuals seeking progress towards the ITIL® Master in IT Service Management for which the ITIL® Expert is a prerequisite This may include but is not limited to, CIOs, Senior IT Managers, IT Managers and Supervisors, IT professionals and IT Operation practitioners.


Learning Objectives:

Candidates can expect to gain competencies in the following upon successful completion of the education and examination components related to this certification:


  • Introduction to IT Service Management Business and Managerial Issues 
  • Managing the Planning and Implementation of IT Service Management 
  • Management of Strategic Change 
  • Risk Management 
  • Understanding Organizational Challenges 
  • Service Assessment 
  • Understanding Complementary Industry Guidance In addition the training for this certification should include examination preparation, including a mock examination opportunity.


Prerequisite Entry Criteria:

Candidates wishing to be trained and examined for this qualification must already hold the ITIL® Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management (2 credits from the V3 Foundation or V2 Foundation plus Bridge Certificate) and have obtained a further 15 credits (a total of at least 17 credits) as a minimum from a balanced selection of ITIL® Service Lifecycle or Service Capability qualifications. Documentary evidence of this must be presented to gain admission to this certification level.


Exam Format:

  • Ten (10) multiple choice, scenario-based, gradient scored questions. Each question will have 4 possible answer options, one of which is worth 5 marks, one which is worth 3 marks, one which is worth 1 mark, and one which is a distracter and achieves no marks.
  • 35 marks or more required to pass (out of 50 available) - 70% 
  • 2:00 hours duration - plus extra time for non-English native speakers


Schedule for this course
Sorry , there is no schedule for this course